Packing, packing, packing!

I love packing for vacation.  I love the anticipation and the countdown until departure!  So we are now at T minus 2 days until we leave for a week of R&R in the Outer Banks!   We have spent a week there every year (except 2006–my mom was in the hospital pretty much that whole summer) since 2005.  It’s our new family tradition and we love it!

So today is our big packing day.  We have to clean out the car, go get some groceries to take along, get all my things at work wrapped up, and of course, pack our stuff!  I found this helpful little guide online.  It’s a packing checklist and you can choose what type of vacation you are going on for a specific list!  The lists are extensive and thorough.  I’m printing out the beach one right now!  You can also find a pre-vacation checklist of things to remember to do around the home.  It just gave me a reminder that I need to ask the neighbors to pick up our mail!      

The Real Simple website has all kinds of helpful things on it.  I love Real Simple magazine but unfortunately it’s also real expensive so I either pick up used copies at the library or read it online.  Lots of great and helpful stuff to be found there!

5 Responses to “Packing, packing, packing!”


  1. 1 Melissa July 9, 2008 at 11:08 am

    I’ve gotten used to packing from when Jason was traveling every week for the past couple of years. Of course, packing for me is a whole other thing 🙂 Enjoy your vacation! We haven’t been back to the Outer Banks since 2005…I miss it!

  2. 2 Melissa July 9, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Vacations are always fun! I love the Outer Banks…we haven’t been since 2005! Hope you guys have an awesome time!

  3. 3 Marla July 9, 2008 at 11:50 pm

    Just wanted to say “ENJOY YOUR R&R!!” You have picked a wonderful place to vacation. I know first hand what a GREAT place it is…we lived there until moving to Ohio 3 1/2 years ago. We will be moving back in 3 weeks. We have missed it sooooo much since we moved and can’t wait to get back!!! Hope you have a wonderful vacation!

  4. 4 lsaufley July 10, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    Thanks Marla! I grew up about 1.5 hours from the OBX and I SO miss those weekend day trips to the beach! I love North Carolina!

  5. 5 melissaeparks July 12, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    Have an awesome vacation!


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

