Are coupons worth the time and effort?

Umm . . . YES!  I wouldn’t have said that several months ago but now I am an avid couponer!  Here is an example of why.  Went to Target (if you know me, you know I have a serious love of that store!) to get diapers and a few various things that were on sale.  My original totals before handing the cashier the coupons was around $62.  Here is what I got:

 That includes:

–4 boxes of General Mills cereal
–3 bottles of men’s Suave body wash
–baby powder
–large bag of pull up diapers
–Pampers baby wipes
–box of Pampers swimmer diapers (beach trip coming up next week!)
–2 bottles of Johnson’s shampoo
–Hanes underwear 3 pack

Now like I said my original total was over $62.  After my huge stack of coupons, it came down to $37!  That was a $25 savings just with coupons!  The secret is to stack your Target coupons with manufacturer’s coupons.  If you go to A Full Cup you can print of various Target specific coupons.  I was able to stack Target coupons with manufacturer’s coupons on the diapers, wipes and swimmers.  (For example, the Target coupon for $5 off pampers diapers and wipes was stacked with a $2.00 coupon I had for the diapers.  So altogether I saved $7 buying the diapers and wipes).  I also had a BOGO Suave coupon from Sunday’s coupons, a $1 off Suave coupon, a $1 off powder coupon from Weight Watchers magazine (that coupon was also stacked with a Target coupon along with the baby shampoo), and I had 2 coupons for the cereal.  I basically had a coupon for everything here except the underwear–but they were a necessity! 

If you don’t think coupons are worth it, just try it for a month.  I think you’ll be surprised!  Check out my links section for other blogs that feature ways to use your coupons to get the best deals (I check out Money Saving Mom and The Centsible Sawyer nearly daily).  Also, if you are just starting out with couponing, read my page above for some facts about using coupons.  Did you know that only 1% of coupons that are printed by manufacturer’s are actually redeemed?!  That’s a lot of wasted money in my opinion!    

1 Response to “Are coupons worth the time and effort?”


  1. 1 Heather July 3, 2008 at 3:23 am

    Haha, those are the other 2 blogs I have bookmarked too! I was really proud the other week when my total at WalMart was $90 but I got it down to $65. ROCK ON, COUPON!!


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

