Violet Saufley: 102 Wonderful Years

My hubby’s grandmother passed away on Sunday.  She was 102 years old!  Isn’t that amazing?  She was very healthy and active on up into her 90s.  She beat breast cancer (without any treatment other than Tamoxifen pills) and was only hospitalized a couple of times during her long time on this earth.  We all think it was the Hershey bars.  She sure did LOVE her Hershey bars.  (It must run in the family because my hubby and my oldest daughter are avid Hershey bar fans too!).  G’Ma Violet was a fine, Christian woman.  Aaron has told me numerous stories about her and how she cared for her husband and family. 

I remember once when I was sitting at my in-law’s house and Grandma came up behind me and put her hands on my shoulders.  Mistaking me for my much, much slimmer sister-in-law Steph, she said, “My Stephanie, you’ve put on some weight!”.  I also remember playing Scattagories with Aaron and his siblings and Grandma Violet joined in and starting calling out answers.  One of the catagories was spices.  She didn’t quite get the concept that every word had to begin with the same letter but I can remember her calling out spices one right after another!

My hubby made a lovely video tribute for her.  It really is quite amazing.  He is pretty talented with making videos!  Anyway, you can check it out on his blog.  He posted about her and then put links to the video at the bottom of the post.       

God bless Grandma Violet.  I hope there’s lots of Hershey bars in Heaven! 

 

1 Response to “Violet Saufley: 102 Wonderful Years”


  1. 1 Melissa Parks July 2, 2008 at 10:29 am

    She sounds like she was quite a woman! The tribute that he did was amazing. I have never seen one so well-thought out and just beautiful!

    Your family is in our thoughts and prayers! Love you guys!


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

