Compact Fluorescent Lightbulbs

 

 Just a quick post today.  I bought some new light bulbs today and since I have been wanting to make the change to CFLs, I went ahead and picked up a 5 pack of them at Ace Hardware for $9.99.  What makes them better?  Well . . . read this fact that I found on the web:

If every American home replaced just one light bulb with an ENERGY STAR qualified bulb, we would save enough energy to light more than 3 million homes for a year, more than $600 million in annual energy costs, and prevent greenhouse gases equivalent to the emissions of more than 800,000 cars.

CFLs will save you time and money in the long run.  The initial investment is more than a regular bulb, but it will save you on your electric costs.  And the bulbs last an average of 4 years so you will not have to spend money on bulbs as often!  It seems that in our house, once one goes they all start to go!  

So I’ve switched a few of mine so far.  There is one important thing to know about them though.  You shouldn’t put them in your regular trash.  They contain a very small, harmless amount of mercury but it can seep into the ground and into the water system if it’s thrown in the trash.  I just found out tonight that Home Depot will recycle your bulbs for you.  Now hopefully I’ll remember that in 4 years when all the CFL bulbs blow! 

3 Responses to “Compact Fluorescent Lightbulbs”


  1. 1 Melissa Parks June 26, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    We made the switch to these awhile back. Jason says that if it’s a room you don’t have the lights on for awhile it’s not as efficient. One note though, last time I was at my Mom’s she had one blow and it was the most horrible smell! We were terrified that we were breathing in toxic air or something. It took quite awhile for the smell to dissipate also. Anyways, the switch is well worth the money…I haven’t had to buy lightbulbs in quite awhile.

  2. 2 lsaufley June 26, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    That’s weird about the funky smell. I wish they looked nicer though. I don’t think I’ll be putting those in my ceiling fan or my bathroom lighting fixtures though because they are fixtures where the bulbs are visible!

  3. 3 Heather June 28, 2008 at 5:38 am

    You can get ones that look good! They are a little more expensive but my mom got them for me for Christmas. As my bathroom ones go out, I’m replacing them with energy-savers. They are big and round and don’t have the funny shape. The only disadvantage is that they take a minute to “warm up”, but other than that I like them much better!


Leave a Reply

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

