Let’s Go Green

If you notice over on the sidebar I have added a new set of links under “Let’s Go Green”.  No, I’m not cheering for the Green Bay Packers.  I’m cheering all of you on to “Go Green”!  To learn more about our environment.  To take better care of our earth.  To not believe everything you are told about ‘friendly chemicals’ in our foods, beauty products, cleaning supplies, etc. 

I am still learning too and every day I learn something new.  My latest interest has been in the chemicals that are in our beauty products.  I am trying to gradually switch to organic beauty products and eco-friendly cleaning products.  I have contacted a friend, Christy, who owns TaylorMade Aromatherapy about trying some of her organic facial cleansers.  I wonder if all the stuff I have been using on my face over the years has actually made my complexion worse instead of making it better!  Christy is very knowledgeable about herbs and herbal remedies.  She grows her own products right here in the Shenandoah Valley (on a nice secluded, wooded 7 acre lot!).  Check out her website and her blog for more info on organic products. 

I am becoming an avid recycler but also I am more aware of decreasing waste in general.  I have been trying to make my motto “Use it up.  Wear it out.  Make do.  Do without.”  If you are interested in learning about recycling, check out Earth 911 or Do Something for information.  Here’s a tidbit of info for you.   Did you know that the US leads the world in trash production each year?  We produce about 1609 POUNDS of trash PER PERSON every year!  That is insane! 

Here are a few things for you to consider.

Good:  Recycle your plastic grocery bags.  Lots of stores have recycling bins now–Walmart, Food Lion, Martin’s.  It’s easy to do.  Just return your bags the next time you go there.
Even better:  Invest in a few canvas bags for your shopping.  Target has some that fold up and fit right in your purse.  Martin’s has them right there at the checkout.  I have picked up a few from the thift store.  They don’t have to be fancy.  Just plain old reuseable canvas bags.
Best Yet:  Not only should you bring your own bags, but also think about what waste you are accumulating while you are shopping.  You really don’t need a little plastic baggie to seperate all your fruits and veggies, do you?  I stopped using those because I thought it was ridiculous to bring canvas bags and then put those little plastic bags inside of them.  I stopped using them altogether.  I also look at plastic containers and ensure that they are recyclable before I buy them.  (In my neighorbood, anything with a number on the bottom is recyclable.)  I also really ask myself if I need it.  That goes back to my new motto of “Use it up.  Wear it out.  Make do.  Do without.”  I use paper towels infrequently now and I am going to switch to cloth napkins as well.  (If Madalyn wasn’t so close to being potty trained, I’d probably make the switch to cloth diapers as well.)    

Another idea is to search consignment stores, thrift stores, and/or yard sales when you are looking for something.  You can also join Freecycle.  Find your local group and join and you will be amazed at the things that people are giving away for free!  You can list things that you want to give away as well.  I have a few things in mind that may be listed if they don’t sale at our yard sale (which I seriously need to get to planning!).  I get e-mails everyday from people giving things away–Christmas trees, mulch, all kinds of stuff.  

So I’ll get off my soapbox for today.  I do have a neat thing to share about my thrift store experience yesterday.  I’ll share a photo later.  I got a lot of stuff really cheap! 

0 Responses to “Let’s Go Green”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

