My Most Embarrassing Post EVER

I can’t believe I’m going to post this.  It is quite embarassing.  So Aaron and I have talked a lot lately about stewardship, reducing, reusing and recycling, not being wasteful, etc.  And we’ve made some positive changes.  Today was our first family trip to the recycling center.  We had lots of plastic bottles and newspapers to drop off.  I felt good about it.  We have both noticed that our outgoing trash is much, much less than in previous months. 

Here lately we have talked a lot about clutter.  And about SIMPLIFYING our lives.  We have too much clutter.  I confess, dare I say it for Aaron to read, that more of the clutter in our house is mine and the girls than it is his.  However, he does contribute to it in some way.  I would die if people saw our bedroom right now, or our dormers, or even the office!  So we are going to be decluttering our lives.  It’s exciting really–getting rid of stuff we don’t need and NOT filling it up with more things that we don’t need!   

Our kitchen is a perfect size for us–any bigger and I’d never keep it clean–but we are lacking in cabinet space.  Well, I think we are.  I don’t really know because we just have too much stuff!  I was looking in the cabinets tonight (taking ‘inventory’) and was thinking, “do I really need 4 pyrex casserole dishes?”  No, I don’t.  I don’t cook that much anyway and really I can make do with one, maybe two just in case. 

So my first decluttering project is going to start in the kitchen.  We are getting a new kitchen floor soon–I can not wait!!!!–so this is a good time to get it all cleaned up.  I am going to turn it upside down.  Everything in every cabinet is coming OUT and hopefully lots of it will be heading to the garage sale pile.  I took before photos and hopefully by next week this time, I will be posting after photos.  So without further ado, here are my very embarassing photos!

  

1.  Under cabinet clutter!  2.  Side cabinet 3.  Corner cabinets  4.  Other side cabinet  5.  SIMPLIFY–my motto  6.  Drawer full of junk  7.  Above the microwave  8.  Under the sink–is that gross, or what??!  9.  Cabinet over the bar 

Simplify.  Ahhhh . . . sounds so refreshing. 

3 Responses to “My Most Embarrassing Post EVER”


  1. 1 Wendy May 12, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    So funny that you are decluttering your kitchen because I just did the exact same thing this weekend. I got rid of any casserole, plastic container, pan, or utensil that I have not used in the last 5 years. I clean out my food cabinets and gave a bunch of stuff to my Mom who I know will use it before it expired. When it was all said and done…I had a box for the yard sale and two bags…yes two LARGE bags of trash. I could not believe it. My cabinets looks so good now. It’s such a great feeling to declutter. Next step is my bedroom closets…got to make room for that baby. 🙂

  2. 2 Homemaker Barbi (Danelle Ice-Simmons) May 15, 2008 at 12:18 pm

    Congrats on your declutter! That’s what I’m doing right now too… a large, hardcore simplification of the entire house, culminating in a garage sale 4 weeks from now! Doesn’t it feel great to have the stuff leave your house?! I hope you enjoy it!
    Homemaker Barbi

  3. 3 Julie May 18, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    I know the feeling. I need to do the same in my kitchen. I have too much stuff too. I don’t have enough cabinets. But again, I have several glass dishes I don’t use alot I could get rid of. Let us know how it goes.


Leave a Reply

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

