Food Lion Deals & My Shopping Spree

I posted this afternoon with a link to some FL coupons.  Well, I went out tonight to pick up a few things and can I just say it was a pain in the butt using those coupons?  It was totally worth it but they had printed so small that the cashier had to enter them all in by hand–all 10 of them!  I kept apologizing to him!  In the end, my grand total was around $91.  After coupons (I redeemed over $20 of them) and MVP savings, I only spent $65.  I was pretty happy with that.  No photo tonight–just too late and I was too tired!  Some of the better deals included:

–a free teething ring with that Gerber coupon

–free baby wipes (I was wrong about the price earlier–the travel size are $1.49 not 99 cents.  But still free nonetheless).

–a free bag of dinner rolls (again with one of those printable coupons)

–a free 2 liter of 7-Up with a printable coupon (I can’t find the link!)

–Huggies Clean Team shampoo for $1 each (had a $3 coupon)

–Huggies wipes, 2 boxes for $3 (used a manufacturer coupon combined with a Food Lion coupon)

–2 boxes cereal (Lucky Charms and Cinnamon Toast Crunch) for $1.12 each (again, stacked a manufacturer coupon with a FL coupon)

–Purex laundry detergent, 3 bottles for $5.50 (these are on sale 2/$5 and there were coupons in I think last week’s paper for $1 off–I had 2 coupons)

So anyway . . . we are all set for the week for groceries.  I must confess though.  I went on a little–well, okay a medium size–shopping spree today. 

Madalyn needed some new clothes and I needed some unmentionables (isn’t that such a funny word.   Because you are mentioning it even if you say unmentionable).  We hit up Kohl’s to use my $5 coupon.  I found a shirt for me that was 50% off and got Madalyn a few clearanced shirts and some pants for $2 each.  I spent around $24.

Then it was onto Target.  I found some really cool things on clearance there.  Also found Mad some clearanced shoes.  My favorite deal there was a flip down CD thingy that goes on my visor.  I am so tired of having to flip through my CD case to find CDs!  It was only $1.24.  I also splurged there on some new flip flops and a t-shirt for me. 

Then we went to A Touch of the Earth in downtown H’Burg.  It’s a funky hippy store and it is my weakness!  They have such cool things.  Lots of Indian, Nepalese and African things.  Just my kind of store.  Anyway, I used to go all the time–like once a week–to buy beads and hemp to make jewelry.  Well, after having kids my life got much busier and the jewelry making kinda fell to the wayside so I haven’t gone there as much over the last few years.  So when I do go, I go a little crazy.  I had Madalyn with me which was pretty fun.  It’s a tiny store and the stroller just would fit inside.  They had their wool hats and mittens 50% off.  Madalyn picked up this rainbow colored wool hat and put it on and would not take it off!  When I tried to take it away, she said “That’s Madalyn’s hat!”.  So I bought it.  And one for me too.  I paid $7.50 each for them.  Madalyn wore hers the rest of the day.  (Her jean mini-skirt, pretty white smocked top and that crazy wool hat with the temperature 72 degrees outside!)  And I got her a little rubber snake that she was infatuated with and has since lost it’s head.  (Good thing he was only 25 cents!)  And I got a new really cool pocketbook for me.  (I shouldn’t have–it was $24!!!!)  And some incense.  I love incense.  I don’t burn it very often–again that changed when I had kids although I don’t really know why.  But I lit some up as soon as I got home.  I just love it.  So anyway, there goes my ‘fun’ money for the next 2 weeks! 

Our last stop was Walmart.  I found a few more things for Madalyn and picked up a new stroller.  And I am not very happy with it either.  I never ever ever write companies about their products, but I was disappointed enough that I sent the Cosco company an e-mail.  The stroller is nice, it was easy to put together and it’s a good height for me pushing it.  But when I put Madalyn in it, her head was above the canopy!  We can’t even put the canopy down with her in it!  It is way too small for a 2 year old and the box said up to 40 pounds.  There is no way a 40 pound kid could sit in this thing.  We are going to keep it because I can take the canopy off (and we figured that we just need something to last through this summer’s vacations because by next year this time she’ll be able to walk anywhere we go).  And for $20 I guess I can’t expect much better.  But I did send them an e-mail and told them that they need to reword the recommendation on the box.  Mad is nowhere near 40 pounds (good grief, Annagrace only weighs that much and she is 6 years old!). 

So that was my day today!  Aaron got up at 6 am–yes, 6 am on a Saturday–to mulch our front flowerbeds.  He has really gotten into this whole yardwork thing.  I woke up at close to 8 and he was almost done.  I didn’t even realize he had gotten up and left.  I slept right through his alarm clock!  The side flowerbed still needs some work and we are putting in a few new flowerbeds in the back and on the side of the house.  And I need a new tree to take the place of my dogwood that died.  Hopefully we can get to all that in the next few weeks before it starts getting too hot out! 

 

1 Response to “Food Lion Deals & My Shopping Spree”


  1. 1 Kendra April 19, 2008 at 3:23 pm

    Wow! You got lots of stuff. Don’t you just love food lion? I’m going again later today. I got a few good things yesterday for FREE. Yay!

    Okay, so I have tagged you for 5 Budget Busters. I hope you get a chance to play along!


Leave a Reply

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

