What Can You Buy for $6.29?

Well, if you asked me that question 2 months ago, I would’ve said this:

oust.jpg

2 cans of Oust, bought on sale at CVS would cost $2.99 each which would have totaled around $6.08.   However, since I have learned about CVS-ing and ECBs, I was able to purchase all of this for $6.29 out of pocket:

cvs-deals-march-24.jpg

Pretty cool, huh?  I’m not going to give the breakdown cause it would just take me way too long.  But basically, I bought stuff on sale (the drinks, pretzels and cheese puffs were 88 cents each!) and used coupons.  I had $7.00 worth of coupons and then paid for the rest with ECBs that I had earned last week.  The total before any coupons was over $65!  I ended up paying $6.29 out of pocket and earned back $7.00 in ECBs to use next time.  I was kind sad to let go of all those ECBs but I was able to buy several things we needed (Pull-Ups, Pepsi and Pretzels are a must in this house!).   I got the toothbrush free with a coupon, the eggs were 50% off (I told Annagrace we would go back and raid the candy aisle next week when it’s marked down to 75% off!), and I had coupons for the Pull-Ups and the Oust. 

For more info on CVS-ing, visit Crystal’s blog and read THIS , and THIS.  And then swing over to Be Thrifty Like Us and read THIS.  All great advice for getting you started in CVSing!  I am so thankful that I found those two sites.  I love to shop anyway and if I can actually save money doing it then it’s even more fun!

  

7 Responses to “What Can You Buy for $6.29?”


  1. 1 Kendra March 28, 2008 at 10:57 pm

    Wow!! You did an awesome job! I hope I do as well when I go tomorrow 🙂

    I better start planning!

    Kendra
    http://handprintsonthewall.wordpress.com/

  2. 2 mom_of2boys March 29, 2008 at 7:19 am

    I would have said the same thing about 5 months ago. Actually it probably would have been, “Sorry I don’t shop CVS. They’re an expensive store.” Nice shopping trip!

  3. 3 Kat March 29, 2008 at 8:03 am

    Wow! Awesome! I know how you feel about being sad to see the ECB’s go, though. I still have trouble using them on things that don’t generate more ECB’s.

  4. 4 Denise March 29, 2008 at 9:32 am

    WOW!! I LOVE the comparison. Makes your savings really visible! Way to go!

    Denise
    The “Cent”sible Sawyer

  5. 5 Lori March 29, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Wow! That’s all I can say! wow – great job!!!!

  6. 6 Kara S March 29, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Great job!!! I hate letting ECBs go especially since I never seem to accumulate a lot of them. Here’s another answer to the “what can you buy for $6.29” = one meal at a fast food restaurant. Sad, isn’t it? Definitely more profitable to shop at CVS! 🙂

  7. 7 lsaufley March 29, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    You’re right Kara! I spent about that at Subway the other day. I’m ashamed to say that I left my coupons at home that day too!


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

