I Really Shouldn’t Have . . .

Gone shopping today that is.  I have been trying to limit my trips to ‘town’ (which is 15 minutes away) due to gas prices so I have to fit in a little shopping here and there when I can! 

Today I made a quick stop at a different CVS from the one I usually shop at to see if they had some of the things that *my* store was out of.  Well, no luck on the Lypsyl lip balm or the Venus Razor but I did find a few things.  Once again, I got all confused when the things I wanted were not there and had to try to do some figuring on the spot.  Still, I was able to walk away with $27.08 worth of stuff for only around $10 out of pocket and got back around $14 in ECBs.  I needed the shampoo anyway and I got lots of Vitamin C to donate to some lucky patient!  I screwed up on the Hershey’s candy deal.  I thought it was a monthly deal and it was a weekly deal–so I missed out on that and spent money on Hershey bars for no good reason.  Aaron told me the other night that we’re saving lots of money at CVS but we’re going to weigh 300 pounds!   

CVS March 10

ETA:  One of my patients takes Vitamin C 3 x a day so I have found a home for all the Vitamin C! 

Then it was off to Target.  I had some coupons on diapers that would make them super cheap so I wanted to stop by tonight while I had the time.  Well, I have to confess.  I went over my budget again but some of what I spent was groceries (and I did have money left in my grocery budget).  And it was all stuff we needed or was a REALLY good deal.  And let me just say–to go from being a shopaholic who totally shopped on a whim and spent money whenever I felt like it to actually budgeting and sticking to it has been hard!  I’ve only been doing this for a month.  Prior to that I didn’t pay any attention to sales.  I never clipped coupons and if I saw something and I wanted it, I bought it.  A typical Target trip for me would cost almost $100–mostly on useless stuff that I didn’t really need.  So I feel like I am getting better.  I pay more attention to prices now.  I balance my checkbook and I am a coupon addict.  So I AM doing better!  Just sometimes those old habits sneak in.

Anyway, here is what I got at Target:

Photobucket

Total price of products (before sale or clearance prices and without coupons):  $40.92
Here is the breakdown: 

1 Jumbo pack Huggies on sale for $9.49 (-$2 manufacturer’s coupon and -$1 Target coupon)=$6.49
1 bag Utz potato chips (Annagrace begged me for them)  for $1.09
1 loaf of bread for $1.89
Pampers wipes $2.39 (-50 cents Target coupon and 50 cent manufacturer coupon)=$1.39
2 boxes cereal $2.99 and $2.44 (marked on clearance and used $1 coupon)=$3.60
Baby t-shirt $2.99 (clearanced at $2.78)
Baby sweater $12.99 (clearanced at $3.24)
Baby powder $2.09 (-75 cents Target coupon and $1 Johnson’s coupon)=34 cents (best deal!)
Grand Total:  $2o.82 before tax!!!  That is almost a 50% savings!   

3 Responses to “I Really Shouldn’t Have . . .”


  1. 1 Holly March 12, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Oh i’m glad i’m not the only one who gets confused. If i don’t have a plan walking in the door of CVS, i get juked. And, yes i’m new to it all, also.

  2. 2 Heather March 14, 2008 at 9:55 pm

    I usually go with a list too…or at least a plan of what I want to buy, BUT sometimes deals just hit you in the face and I have found that you shouldn’t be afraid to stock up for later…as long as you will actually dig to the back of the cabinets for the stuff that you bought 3 months ago! Like today, I found Raisins and Spice oatmeal (the one healthy food that Reber actually likes) for 99 cents a box…so I bought 3! The only place I can even find that flavor is at Food Lion and it is double the price.

  3. 3 Alexis March 19, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one that gets flustered when my CVS doesn’t have the ECB items on my list! I went to 7 stores on Monday looking for those darn Pot Of Golds!


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

