Budget Update

I had posted awhile back that we were decreasing our grocery budget to $200 every 2 weeks–-with a goal to get it down to possibly $60 a week.  So I thought I’d try to be more accountable by posting my running totals on my grocery and miscellaneous budget on here.  I include any deals at CVS in my miscellaneous budget–diapers, makeup, shampoo, paper products, etc. are all in my miscellaneous funds for the month.  Anytime we eat out, that comes out of our grocery/food budget.  So here is my running total for the first half of March so far:

Groceries: 
Food Lion:  $36.54
Food Lion:  $11.24
Ollie’s:  $14.94  (love that store!  Our best deal on this trip was 10 large packs of fruit snacks marked down 90% to only 7 cents each!)
Pano’s Restaurant:  $37.92  (We splurged on Wednesday night.  The shrimp was delicious and our waiter looked like Pedro from Napolean Dynamite!  Photobucket
Sharp Shopper:  $57.58  (This is were we do the bulk of our grocery shopping.  Best deal was a huge spiral ham for $8!) 
Martin’s:  $8.89
McDonald’s:$8.20
McDonald’s: $3.70 
Total so far: $179.01 out of $200

Miscellaneous:
Green Valley Book Fair:  $22.98  (My weakness is books.  I bought 2 best sellers–including a hardback copy of Water for Elephants for only $6.99, 2 books for the kids and 2 other novels for me.  My plan is to give Water for Elephants to my mom when I am done and she can sell it on e-bay!
E-Book Purchase of Supermarket Savings 101 from Crystal’s blog (she had a 2 day special!):  $8.97
Ollie’s:  $8 (large Pier One basket marked down from $30.  Technically this is a business expense as I plan to use it as a prop for photo sessions!)
Goodwill:  $15.54 (a Limited Too jean jacket, a new Target shirt and a dance outfit for Annagrace, a book for me, 2 new kid’s plates from Target, small kid’s purse, 4 pairs of pants for Madalyn–I love our Goodwill.  They get lots of Target stuff at the end of the season.  I always find lots of new stuff there!)
Total so far:  $55.45 out of $50

Gas:
$40 on 3/03
$40 on 3/07
Gas is insane!  I am going to have to raise my gas budget from $60 a week because it’s not cutting it.  I have been so busy at work lately that I’ve been putting in over 60 miles almost every day.   

 So in reviewing all that I see several things to work on.  #1–I need to use cash.  It is so easy to go over on my miscellaneous budget when I use my debit card.  #2–McDonald’s is not my friend.  One of those purchases was for Annagrace the day she was sick.  I took her for a milkshake and ended up getting both the girls happy meals.  But I also eat out a lot too during the week.  I always think that I can make it until I get home in the afternoon but then I get hungry and give into my temptation for a Snack Wrap and fries!  #3–We need an emergency medical fund.  Annagrace’s trips to the doctor this month will cost us $85 when it is all said and done.  Plus I got a bill for a procedure I had done in February for over $80.  I have no emergency funds at all so I am going to have to pay less on my credit cards this month to make up the difference. 

Whew!  That was a LONG post.  I doubt anyone has really made it this far.  Oh well, it’s good for me to actually see if written out because it shows me what I need to work on!

2 Responses to “Budget Update”


  1. 1 Melissa Parks March 8, 2008 at 8:47 am

    Well, the hardest part of budgeting is sticking to it. Looks like you are doing a pretty good job and evaluating to see where you need to change and such is good! Keep up the good work 🙂

  2. 2 lsaufley March 8, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Thanks Lissa! I think I’m doing pretty good too considering that I have never lived on a budget in my 10 years of being married! Aaron has always had a budget but I’ve always been a free spirit when it comes to money!


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

