Sounds a little crazy . . . but it might be a good idea!

I was browsing through some blogs and happened upon this one:  A Year Off.  It is very interesting.  What would happen if you and your family agreed for one year not to make any unneccessary purchases?  For my family, that would mean no clothes or scrapbooking items for me.  No root beer for Aaron.  No new toys for the girls.  This family has commited themselves to stop shopping in 2008.  Sounds crazy, but she makes some really good points.

She mentioned how she feels like she is just ‘borrowing’ the things she is buying.  She buys them,  uses them for a short time and then takes them to goodwill.  Boy does that sound familiar!  I can’t tell you how much stuff I have taken to Goodwill over the last two years.  Every time I pack up a box I think to myself about all the money that I have wasted on things that I don’t need!  Clothes, shoes, housewares, things that I just HAD to have at the moment–now sitting on a $1 rack at the Goodwill store.  I have tried to become more frugal and part of that is not buying things that I don’t need or won’t use.  I am trying to not go shopping unless I have a specific item in mind.  For instance, last week I went to Ross to look for 1) a lightweight black coat for me, 2) a pair of jeans for me and 3) a pair of jeans for Madalyn (because she wet herself and leaked through her clothes and I had more errands to run that day!).  When I left the store, I had those 3 things and a baby shower gift and a pair of clearanced capri pants for Annagrace.  So I didn’t do too bad.  I kept to my list for the most part and the extras I bought were needed.     

And just last night I was searching online for some new scrubs.  We have no uniform stores anywhere nearby and I have a difficult time finding scrubs–especially pants–that fit.  They are usually too long, or fitted at the bottom, or they tie at the waist–which I really hate.  So I thought I’d look around online for some pants similar to some that I have now and really like.  I found a few pairs and added them to my shopping cart.  Then I found a few tops and added those.  I was all ready to check out and was getting ready to find my debit card and I stopped myself. 

I remembered the bag of scrub tops out in the van waiting to go to the resale shop.  They are random tops that I bought that I don’t wear for one reason or another.  Some of them are brand new–I bought them on sale even though they were not my style or didn’t fit just right.  I told myself that I am not going to buy any more scrubs until I have sold the ones I have that I don’t wear.  I have 4 scrub pants that I wear–and what a coincidence I work 4 days a week.  So that is plenty!  Once I sell those tops (either at the resale shop or on e-bay) I’ll hopefully have a little money to spend on some new scrubs–maybe I can find some on e-bay or at a yard sale this Spring.

So back to this blog I found.  I laughed out loud at several of the entries.   And did I mention she has SEVEN children?!  I think this will be a fun blog to follow throughout the year!  Check it out!     

1 Response to “Sounds a little crazy . . . but it might be a good idea!”


  1. 1 Heidi March 4, 2008 at 6:36 pm

    I’ve been reading that blog all year and I didn’t realize she had 7 children!


Leave a Reply

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

