CVS Deals! All this for $6.35!

I made my weekly trip to CVS today and I got some really good deals!  I got all this plus one bottle of water!                                         CVS Deals 2/27/08

I did this in two transactions.
Transaction #1:
(2) Stayfree Overnight $10.00 
(1) Fusion Razor  $9.99
(2) Bags M&Ms (BOGO free)
(3) Boxes Kleenex  $2.97
(1) Bag Valentine’s Candy Bracelets
Total:  $26.94
Coupons:  $4 off Fusion razor,  $2 off 2 packs of Stayfree, $0.50 off 3 boxes Kleenex, $1 off 2 bags M&Ms
ECBs used:  $15
Total OOP:  $5.54!
ECBs earned: $8

Transaction #2:
Assorted Valentine’s Candy (clearance at 90% off):  $1.92
Tylenol Children’s Cough and Cold:  $6.99
Crest toothpaste (on clearance) $1.65
Total:  $10.56
Coupons:  $0.75 off Crest, $1 off Tylenol (clerk forgot to take the coupon off–I’m going to return it tomorrow and try to get that $1 back!)
ECBs used:  $8 
Total OOP:  $0.81 cents!!!

I am now completely out of ECBs!  I hope CVS has some really good deals next week.  They have been a little sparse lately!  But still, I think I did pretty good today!

As far as my budgeting goes, I’ve done pretty well.  I’m am starting to think before I purchase something and I really ask myself if it’s in my budget and if I really need it.  I am feeling so much better and less stressed about my finances.  I have kept my checkbook balanced and have been using cash more.

Some other changes I have made include utilizing the local library more.  I bought 3 Jodi Picoult books (my absolute favorite author)  in January and I realized that those cost me $42!  What was I thinking?  I have been able to get 3 from the library (which I quickly read!) and they have 2 more on order for me!  We have a very small library here in town that is part of a larger group of libraries.  So they are able to borrow from each other and when I request a book they usually are able to get it in just a few days time.   I also have been getting movies there as well.  We have Netflix, which Aaron pays for, but we only get one movie at a time.  Sometimes it’s a movie that I am not interested in so I will stop by the library and pick one or two out for me or the kids.  They have a pretty good assortment.  Last week I got Brokeback Mountain–which I’ve been wanting to see since it came out–and this week it is Finding Neverland.  They’re not new releases but they are movies I have been wanting to see.  Might as well see them for free!  
 

3 Responses to “CVS Deals! All this for $6.35!”


  1. 1 Ida Faye Cutler February 27, 2008 at 10:52 pm

    You go girl!! I think you’ve got the hang of it. Love, Mom

  2. 2 Melissa Parks February 29, 2008 at 12:55 am

    One thing that I have done since I am not at the bookstore anymore is I have started trading books with my girlfriends who have similar reading tastes. It’s usually a pretty good deal because they have a ton of stuff that I haven’t gotten to yet and so do I. Of course, there are some authors I just have to actually have a copy of the book!

    Sounds like you are getting some great deals though! Keep up the good work 🙂

  3. 3 Heidi March 1, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    Good job. I also am making a concerted effort to use the library. I also have to “order” my books through the library. It’s an extra step, but it saves TONS of money.

    Have a good weekend.


Leave a Reply

February 2008
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

