My 30 Day Challenge

Last night at 1:30 a.m. I was lying wide awake in bed.  I couldn’t keep my eyes closed.  So many thoughts were racing through my head–getting the house ready to sell, finding jobs, waiting to hear back about Annagrace’s school situation, Madalyn’s birthday coming up, our Thanksgiving trip to Kentucky, work on Monday, along with about 100 other things. 

So I decided I needed to pray.  I will am a ‘little bit all day long’ pray-er.  I have a hard time with sitting down for a designated time and praying.  So as I go through my day I say little prayers along the way.  I’ll pray for my patients as I arrive to their home, I’ll pray for stuff going on with our church family while I’m in my car driving, I’ll say thanks to God when I see a beautiful sunset or when it’s a beautiful day out.  I like staying connected to God in this way–kind of like a constant conversation with Him rather than just a couple designated times a day. 

But as I was laying there last night a thought popped into my head.  I haven’t prayed for Aaron today.  Or yesterday.  Or, well . . . in a really long time.  I also haven’t prayed for my kids in a long time.  I get so wrapped up in what’s going on with my friends’ and patients’ lives that I don’t stop and pray for my own family.  So I am challenging myself for the next 30 days to pray for my husband and my children everyday.  Even when my hubby aggravates and frustrates me (Saturday was a bad day, that’s all I’ll say about that!) and even when my kids are driving me crazy. 

And I want to challenge you to pray for your husband and children everyday for the next 30 days as well.  It can be a simple quick prayer as your child gets on the bus or a simple “Hey God–thanks!” for your hubby.   

Also, while I’m on the subject of prayer–my college friend, Neal is trying something out.  His 60/60 challenge involves stopping every 60 minutes for the next 60 days to think about God.  I admire Neal’s honesty on his blog.  I always laugh when I see how long his blog posts are because, well–that’s Neal!  (And I’m not making fun because I have some reaaaallllyyyy long posts as well!).  Go check out his blog!

8 Responses to “My 30 Day Challenge”


  1. 1 Neal Alligood November 10, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    Hey Laura – I figured I’d check-in (and I’ll try and keep this short ha ha ha) – I was on my blog and saw that I was gettin’ a few hits from your site so I figured I better check it out – didn’t know if I was getting bashed ha ha – j/k I knew you wouldn’t do that!

    Thanks for the shout out – and for the challenge you gave people (although not me since I have no wife or kids to pray for – guess I could pray for them in future tense if the Lord wills it – hmmm interesting thought) – and for then directing them to the one I have rolling. (it’s even more interesting that this 60-60 deal started out as a 30-30 deal that the minister – John Burke – originally challenged his people with. So I guess my 60-60 and your 30-30 are even closer than we thought ha ha)

    Anyway – good thoughts – and thanks for the kind words it made me laugh when you said “well that’s Neal” ha ha ha – So many times people say “well you do type like you talk” ha ha ha- and I am OKAY WITH THAT – keeps me at least for the most part Authentic and I believe that’s a good thing.

    Keep up the great work – these are exciting times (and anxious I am sure) but how wonderful to look back in a few years to see the way God blesses this move and the new adventure – tell A-dawg and the kids I said WHATUP!!!

  2. 2 Heather November 10, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    Great challenge. I will take you up on it! Ask me how I’m doing in a few days…I’ll do the same for you!

  3. 3 Melissa November 10, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    I also accept the challenge 🙂 Great idea!

  4. 4 lsaufley November 10, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    Awesome! So let’s keep each other accountable! I’ll try to remember to post something every week as a reminder. I am officially starting as of today!

  5. 5 Laura November 10, 2008 at 10:59 pm

    I am up for this challenge as well! Thanks for the reminder to not overlook those closest to us.

    I also can relate to your statement of having 100 things on your mind! Girl, I have felt that way for like 3 months now and am so ready to be done with it all. (:

    BTW. Are you just buying a new home in the same area or relocating?

  6. 6 jenny November 10, 2008 at 11:16 pm

    Hi Laura,

    I facebooked you about house churches. Will try to call or connect soon. I was out of town last week for work.
    I will join you in prayer!
    Jenny

  7. 7 Alison November 12, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    I’m down with this. I pray for my girls every day, but realize that I often forget to lift up Dean in prayer, as well as our marriage. Count me in.


  1. 1 Divorce Billboards - 60-60 Day 15 « Shakyhands’s Weblog Trackback on November 12, 2008 at 3:22 pm

Leave a comment




November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930